---
title: Reset User Capabilities
description: "You can reset a user's custom capabilities to the default capabilities defined by their assigned role. 1. Go to the **Gallery Manager** page. 2. Open **Manage Users**. 3. Scroll down to the **All Users** table. 4. Find the user you…"
url: "https://wpheirloom.com/heirloom-gallery/docs/reset-user-capabilities/"
updated: "2026-10-07"
category: Manage Users
---

# Reset User Capabilities

You can reset a user's custom capabilities to the default capabilities defined by their assigned role.

1. Go to the **Gallery Manager** page.
2. Open **Manage Users**.
3. Scroll down to the **All Users** table.
4. Find the user you want to modify and click the **Settings** icon in their row.
5. The **Custom Capabilities** popup will appear. Click **Reset to Role Defaults**.
6. A **Reset Capabilities** popup will appear showing the changes that will be made. Click **Reset** to confirm.

The user's capabilities will now match the defaults for their assigned role.
